Watch Live Mobile Streaming of Ligue 1 France. Online Ligue 1 Streaming on Android & iPhone Samsung Mobile users.

Ligue 1, officially known for its Ligue 1 overseas sponsorship reasons, is a French professional league for men’s association football clubs. At the top of the French football league system, it is the country’s main football competition. Administered by Lego de Football Professional, League 1 is played by 20 clubs and operates a promotion and relegation system from League 2.

The seasons run from August to May. The club plays two matches against other teams in the league – once at home and once away – a total of 38 matches during the season. Most games are played on Saturdays and Sundays, some games are played on Saturday evenings. The play has been suspended for two weeks on the last weekend before Christmas before returning in the second week of January. By 2018, League 1 is one of the top national leagues, ranked fifth in Europe, after the English Premier League, Spain’s La Liga, Germany’s Bundesliga, and Italy’s Serie A.

League 1 was inaugurated as National on September 11, 1932, before being transformed into Division 1 a year after its inception. It continued to operate under that name until 2002 when it adopted its current name. AS Saint-sentience is the most successful club in France with ten league titles, while Olympique Lyonnais is the club that has won the most titles (seven between 2002 and 2008). With 71 seasons in League 1, Olympique de Marseille holds the record for most seasons among the elite, while Paris Saint-Germain holds the longest league record with 47 consecutive seasons (1974 to date). ۔ The current champion is Lilly, who won the 2020-21 season. Overseas club AS Monaco has won the league on several occasions, the presence of which makes it a cross-border competition within the league.

The inaugural season of the All-Professional League, called the National, was held in 1932–1933. The 20 opening members of the National are Antibes, CA Paris, Cannes, Club French, Excelsior AC Roebucks, Fius, Hayers, Marseille, Metz, Mall House, Nice, Nimes, Olympic Ellis, Olympic Lelouch, Racing Club de France, Red Star Olympic, Rennes, Sochaux, City, and Montpellier. The 20 clubs were placed in two groups of 10 and the bottom three in each group faced relegation to Division 2. Stade Olympic Yves du Manoir. The first final was held on May 14, 1933, and the Group A winner, Olympic Lelus, competed with Group B runner-up, Keynes. The winner of Group B, Antibes, was to run in the final but was suspected of bribery by the French Football Federation and was disqualified. In the first final, Lillois clinched the title after the club’s 4–3 victory. After the season, the league decided to retain 14 clubs and not promote any side of the second division. The league also agreed to change its name from National to Division 1 only. For the 1934–35 season, the league set up a legitimate promotion and relegation system, bringing the total number of clubs in the division to 16. This number remained until 1938 for 39 seasons.

Due to World War II, the French government and the League de Football Professional suspended football, although its member clubs continued to play in regional competitions. During the “war championships”, as they are called, professionalism was eliminated by the central government, and clubs were forced to participate in regional leagues, which were named Zone Sod and Zone Nord. Due to its non-alignment with the two leagues, the LFP and FFF clubs do not recognize the championship they have won, and thus both organizations consider 1939–1945 to be non-existent. After the end of the war and the independence of France, professional football returned to France. The first division increased the allotment of its clubs to 18. This number remained until the 1965-66 season when the number increased to 20. In 2002, the league changed its name from Division 1 to League 1

error: Content is protected !!